I will start by saying that this movie is not for children. It’s not for people who don’t think violence is amusing. It’s not for people who don’t think that… It’s not for everyone.

But it is for me.

I will next say that people who see this movie need to understand how bad you are going to feel for laughing. I will say, there should be nothing funny about seeing a little girl get kicked in the face. But believe me, it is funny. You will laugh. Then you will realize you are a bad person for laughing. But that’s ok. We’re all bad people.

I can’t help but think about the masterpiece that is Michael Haneke’s Funny Games. That movie is essentially about how violence isn’t supposed to be entertaining. Read: SUPPOSED TO BE. Doesn’t mean it isn’t. I found Kick-Ass almost endlessly entertaining. If you enjoy violence in movies or video games, or hell, even sports (what is football, if not a large display of televised violence?), you’ll probably be ok with it.

I need to rant briefly about one thing that did bother me, perhaps more than it should have, and certainly more than it would bother anyone who does not watch more than a reasonable number of movies (as I do). The music. I am of the opinion that original music composed for one movie is off limits to every other movie. Period. That song from Requiem For A Dream (“Lux Aeternal”) essentially ruined The Two Towers. It ruins every preview it is a part of. That song is from Requiem For A Dream, dammit. There was a phase where EVERY preview for EVERY epic used music from Gladiator. Ruined.

John Murphy is a genius, responsible for several of the best original scores of the last decade. Snatch. 28 Days Later. Sunshine. He write music for Danny Boyle (director of the last two of those three). He did music for Kick-Ass. Me=excited. Then, the music in the movie was the theme from 28 Days Later and Sunshine. It’s great music. I loved it here too. But THAT ISN’T FAIR. It unfairly evokes the images of those movies during this one.

Also, there is a build up to a climactic gun battle in a hallway, and the background music is very unmistakably an intro to “Kryptonite” by 3 Doors Down. I was stoked. I haven’t heard that song in years. And it fits! Then, right as it’s about to start, cut to a different song. My guess is they couldn’t get the rights to it, so they had to cut to something else. But still, annoying.

This movie was also quite bipolar. The first half is very reminiscent of Superbad. Not very serious. The second half is just like Shoot ‘Em Up, ridiculous fight choreography and all. But it’s easy to roll with. I didn’t mind.

Finally, my hat is off to Nicholas Cage. A much bigger role than I expected, and very well played. I did not see him coming on this strong.

I’d recommend this movie very highly, but only to certain people. But you know who you are. In fact, if you’re reading this, I bet you already knew whether you want to see this or not. I doubt I changed many minds.

One-line review: One part Superbad, one part Shoot ‘Em Up.

Consensus: 86/100